Lyons Inter-Church Council

The Inter-Church Council of Lyons is a cooperative effort among Christian
churches in Lyons. First Lutheran, Grace Episcopal Mission, Mt. Zion
Baptist, Presbyterian, St. John’s Lutheran, St. Michael’s Catholic and
United Methodist attend meetings. 

Meetings are the first Tuesday of the
month at 5:00 pm at one of Lyons’ churches.

The churches take a turn at
providing a light supper for the church representatives.  Annual dues of
$200.00 are requested from each parish.  Pastor William Wigmore, of First
Lutheran Church is the President, Father David Tedesche is the Vice
President, William Maddock is the Secretary and Patricia Hewes of First
Lutheran Church is the Treasurer. Co-Reps of St. Michael’s Church Council
are John Hewes and William Maddock.

Among the activities of the group are: aid to fire victims, the Lenten soup
and sharing meal that promotes fellowship and learning, a baccalaureate
service, a $500.00 faith scholarship to a qualifying senior, a Peppermint
Days’ Ecumenical Service, Community Thanksgiving Dinner, which will be
hosted by St. Michael’s Church on November 26, 2019, aid to the food pantry,
help to the Santa Sleigh organization for toys for the needy, and help with
the Christmas food basket program. The Mary Cole Scholarship Fund and
Grace’s Gifts (a grant for clothes and needs from Grace Episcopal Mission)
are overseen by the organization.